State Level Banker's Committee

1. Constitution

The SLBC is an inter-institutional forum for co-ordination and joint implementation of development programmes by all the financial institutions operating in the State. Although SLBC is envisaged as a Bankers’ forum, Government officials are also included in this committee.

There are 38 districts in the State of Bihar, lead responsibility for which has been allotted among 07 Banks.



Bank Name

District Name where the Bank having Lead Bank Responsibility

 No. of Districts  


State Bank of India

Araria, Jamui, Kishanganj, Madhepura, Purnea, Saharsa, Supaul.



Central Bank of India

Darbhanga, East Champaran, Gopalganj, Katihar, Madhubani, Muzaffarpur, Saran, Siwan, Vaishali, West Champaran.



Punjab National Bank 

Arwal, Aurangabad, Bhabua, Bhojpur, Buxar, Gaya, Jehanabad, Lakhisarai, Nalanda, Nawadah, Patna, Rohtas.



UCO Bank

Banka, Begusarai, Bhagalpur, Munger.



Union Bank of India

Khagaria, Samastipur.



Bank of Baroda

Sheohar, Sitamarhi.



Canara Bank






State Bank of India is Convenor Bank in State of Bihar.

State Bank of India has taken over the Convenorship of SLBC in the State of Bihar from Bank of India in 2001 and the 1st meeting of SLBC under the Convenorship of SBI took place on 18/09/2001. The meeting was presided over by the Deputy Managing Director & Group Executive (National Banking), State Bank of India.

The SLBC Department at State Bank of India, Local Head Office, Patna has been created exclusively for coordination of SLBC related issues and is headed by an Assistant General Manager.

The Address of SLBC Bihar is:

SLBC Department,
5th Floor, State Bank of India,
Local Head Office, West Gandhi Maidan,
Patna, PIN-800001.
Phone No. - (0612)-2209076, Fax: (0612)-2209075.
SLBC Website:



The Chairman, State Bank of India, (Chairman of the convenor Bank). SLBC Meeting is jointly presided over by the Chief Secretary of Bihar State and Chairman, State Bank of India. In the absence of Chairman, State Bank of India, Chief General Manager, State Bank of India, Patna Circle (Circle Head of Bihar & Jharkhand State) is jointly presiding the meeting.

When the Chief Minister/Finance Minister of the State attends such meeting, he Chairs the meeting.



·         Representative of RBI

·         Representative of NABARD

·         Representative of SIDBI

·         Representative of IFCI

·         Representatives of all Lead Banks in the State

·         Representatives of other banks having a fair network of branches in the rural, semi-urban and urban areas of the State.

·         Representative of State Co-op. Bank

·         Representative of State Land Dev. Bank

·         Representative of State Finance Corporation

·         Chairmen of RRBs

·         The Concerned Secretary/Director of Institutional Finance of State Government.

·         The Planning Secretary of State Government

·         Representatives of other banks may be invited to specific meetings of SLBC wherever considered necessary.

·         National Commission for SCs/STs

·         National Horticulture Board

·         Khadi & Village Industries Commission



·         Lead District Managers of all Districts of Bihar State.

·         Senior Deputy Collector (Banking) of all Districts of Bihar State.

·         Nodal officer of Life and Non Life Insurance Company for Bihar State.

·         State Project Coordinator of RSETI for the State of Bihar.

·         National Housing Bank

·         Farmers’ Union

·         Retail Traders, Exporters & industry bodies.

2. Periodicity of Meeting


The State Level Bankers’ Committee meets once in a quarter.


3. Functions

  1. To discuss issues, consider alternative solutions to the various problems in the field of banking development and evolve consensus for coordinated action by the member institutions.
  2. To do the necessary spadework for formulation of Annual Credit Plans for getting in time district-wise resource allocation by banks and disaggregations of the various Government Programmes.
  3. To facilitate the inter-institutional coordination in the formulation and implementation of the Annual Credit Plans.
  4. To undertake critical analysis of the progress of the implementation of Annual Credit Plans & Government/other agencies’ sponsored credit linked programmes/ schemes in the various districts.
  5. To review the assistance required and provided by Government agencies.
  6. To consider problems referred by the district level forums and take necessary follow-up action.
  7. To oversee the implementation of branch expansion programme.
  8. To review the recovery performance.
  9. To ensure arrangements for training of both Bank and Government staff as well as evaluation of the programmes implemented.
  10. To take up for consideration such issues as have been raised by the member Banks and/or the State Govt. authorities and questions or inter-Bank differences remaining unresolved at the District Level Consultative Committees.
  11. To solve operational problems in implementations of Service Area Approach, Credit Plans, Government and other Agencies’ programmes, etc. To discuss about the availability of adequate infrastructural facilities, forward and backward linkages necessary for successful implementation of the schemes.
  12. To serve as a focal point for the banking system in the state for securing better liaison with the State Government authorities.
  13. To review the trends in the flow of credit into rural areas and to the small borrowers in the neglected sectors.
  14. To purposefully review the picture revealed by the data compiled in accordance with the system of returns and take follow up measures for speedy disposal of loan application, to improve the pace of credit assistance under specific programmes/schemes of the Central Govt., SC/ST Action Plan and all State sponsored schemes.
  15. To review Credit Deposit Ratio, Priority Sector Advances, Advances to Weaker Section, financing to Minority Communities etc.
  16. To review performance under Self Help Groups, Kisan Credit Cards, Crop Insurance Scheme, Laghu Udyami Credit Cards, Swarojgar Credit Cards, Artisan Credit Cards etc.
  17. To undertake/entrust study of any specific problems in implementation of Lead Bank Scheme, Service Area Approach, Development Programmes, etc. by appointing ‘Study Groups’ and by involving Government departments more intimately concerned with the problem or having greater expertise at their command.
  18. To review the progress made in achieving the targets set under the various schemes.
  19. To liaise with representative of State Level Association of SSI for promoting SSI.
  20. Confirming/ratifying the action initiated by the Steering Committee of SLBC.

Sub- Committee of SLBC

In view of large membership of SLBC, it is desirable for the SLBC to constitute Sub-committees for specific task.

The Sub-Committees of SLBC are functional Sub-Committees of SLBC to look into specific areas like Agl., Micro, Small/Medium industries etc. The Sub- Committees of SLBC review/follow-up/sort out various issues/ action points etc emerging from the meeting of SLBC.

Following Sub-Committees of SLBC are functional in Bihar:

  1. Steering
  2. On Financial Inclusion and Branch Opening
  3. On SHG and RSETI
  4. On Agriculture
  5. On Industry
  6. Digital Payments



Convenor Bank of SLBC i.e. SBI is the convenor of the Steering Sub-Committee Meetings of SLBC in the State.



Membership varies from Committee to Committee.

These include Representative of RBI, NABARD, concerned member Banks, concerned State Govt departments & others related with the objective of the Committee.